ddbc7d2cf20ca73a9d2d3d35c6633ce8.jpg

WYD 2023

World Youth Day

World Youth Day (WYD) is a gathering of young people from all over the world with the Pope. It is also a pilgrimage, a celebration of youth, an expression of the universal Church and an intense moment of evangelisation for the youth of the world. While its Catholic identity is clearly evident, WYD opens its doors to everyone, no matter how close to or distant from the Church they are.

pape_francois_p.jpg

«Mary arose and went with haste»

(Lk 1:39)

Join our pilgrimage!

We have offer you three options to participate in WYD

bus de tournée

Option 1

Hop on the bus with our Cardinal for a magnificent pilgrimage on wheels!!
Luxembourg - Lourdes - Loyola - Braga - Fatima - Lisbon.

Tramway de Lisbonne

Option 2

If you're already having fun in Portugal, you can join us directly in Braga or in Lisbon, so that together we can experience WYD!

Papier volant Avion

Option 3

Join us by airplane, directly in Lisbon, Portugal.
 

We will be waiting there for you!

WYD @Home!

Before going to WYD, we will spend three days of WYD @ HOME in Luxembourg at the invitation of our Cardinal Jean-Claude Hollerich!

 

All pilgrims are welcome to join us, to meet the local church, culture, gastronomy and especially the wonderful people of Luxembourg!

 

Get ready for three days of celebration, tourism, entertainment, prayer… with people from all over the world who have found a home in the only Grand Duchy in the world!

subscribe to our newsletter!

Join us!

Let's us keep you informed about the preparation program and final registration

logo.png

Merci pour votre envoi !

Theme

«Mary arose and went with haste» (Lk 1:39)

Mary of Nazareth is the great figure of the Christian journey. She teaches us to say yes to God. She was the protagonist of the last edition of WYD and will be so once again in Lisbon.

In the biblical episode of the Visitation, the action of standing up presents Mary as both a woman of charity and a missionary woman.

Leaving in haste represents the attitude depicted in Pope Francis’ indications for WYD Lisbon 2023: «may young people’s evangelization be active and missionary, for this is how they will recognize and witness the presence of the living Christ».

Addressing young people in particular, and challenging them to be courageous missionaries, the following was written by the Pope in the Apostolic Exhortation Christus Vivit:  « Where does Jesus send us? There are no borders, no limits: he sends us everywhere. The Gospel is for everyone, not just for some » (CV 177).

What it is the WYD ?

WYD brings together millions of young people to celebrate their faith and sense of belonging to the Church. Since its first edition in Rome in 1984, World Youth Day has proven to be a laboratory of faith, a place of birth for vocations and an instrument for the evangelization and transformation of the Church. It aims WYD to provide all participants with a universal Church experience, fostering a personal encounter with Jesus Christ. It is a new stimulus to the faith, hope and charity of the entire host country community. With young people as its protagonists, WYD also seeks to promote peace, unity and fraternity among peoples and nations around the world. 

What is going to happen?

Over the course of a week, young people from all over the world are welcomed, mainly in public (gymnasiums, schools, pavilions…) and parish facilities or family homes. In addition to the moments of prayer, sharing and leisure, the young people enrolled in this celebration participate in various initiatives organized by the WYD team, in different locations across the host city. The highlights are the celebrations (central features) for which the Pope is present, such as the welcoming and opening ceremony, the Way of the Cross, the vigil and, on the last day, the closing mass. 

Where?

Lisbon, Portugal

Lisbon is an amazing city that unveils itself gradually, in every neighbourhood, on every street. It is both friendly and safe, while also ancient and modern. 

The historical and cultural offer is endless. Beginning with the Cathedral, then moving on to the historic Alfama neighbourhood and to the Castle, fabulous views over the city and the Tagus River can be enjoyed. Strolling through the downtown area of Baixa, walking along the riverside towards Alges, we are able to see Belem Tower and the Monastery of Jeronimos, both World Heritage Sites. 

The people, heritage and culture make Lisbon an unforgettable city!  

Sponsor us!

We cannot do this without your financial support

 

Please help us with any amount through the
St Irmine foundation of Luxembourg dioceses

Many thanks in advanced!

Official theme song

ddbc7d2cf20ca73a9d2d3d35c6633ce8.jpg

JMJ 2023

Journées mondiales de la Jeunesse

 Les Journées mondiales de la Jeunesse (JMJ) sont un rassemblement de jeunes des quatre coins du monde avec le Pape. C’est aussi un pèlerinage, une célébration de la jeunesse, une expression de l’Église universelle et un moment intense d’évangélisation pour la jeunesse du monde entier. Avec une identité catholique claire, les JMJ ouvrent leurs portes à tout le monde, quel que soit son degré de proximité avec l’Église.

«Marie se mit en route rapidement» (Lc 1, 39)) 

pape_francois_p.jpg

Participe à notre pèlerinage!!

Nous t’offrons trois options pour vivre ces JMJ

Option 1

Prendre le bus avec notre Cardinal pour un magnifique pèlerinage sur roues!!
Luxembourg - Lourdes - Loyola - Braga - Fatima - Lisbonne.

Option 2

Nous rejoindre par avion, directement à Lisbonne, au Portugal.
 

Nous t’y attendrons!

Option 3

Si tu es déjà en vacances au Portugal, tu peux nous rejoindre directement à Braga ou à Lisbonne, et nous vivrons ensemble l’aventure des JMJ!

Pré-inscription!

Rejoins d’autres pèlerins du Luxembourg et du monde.

Nous t’informerons du programme de la préparation et de l’inscription définitive

Thème

«Marie se mit en route rapidement» (Lc 1, 39)

 

Marie de Nazareth est dans le christianisme la grande figure du voyage. Marie nous enseigne à dire oui à Dieu. Marie est la figure emblématique de cette édition des JMJ et sera avec nous à Lisbonne.

Dans l’épisode biblique de la Visitation, Marie est debout et en action, Marie est à la fois témoin de l’amour divin et missionnaire.

Se mettre en route rapidement, c’est l’attitude que nous propose le Pape François pour les JMJ de Lisbonne en 2023: «Que l’évangélisation des jeunes soit active et missionnaire, car c’est ainsi qu’ils pourront reconnaître le Christ présent et vivant, puis témoigner de lui».

S’adressant tout spécialement aux jeunes, le Pape leur propose le défi d’être des missionnaires courageux, comme l’écrivait le Pape dans son Exhortation apostolique Christus Vivit: « Où nous envoie Jésus ? Il n’y a pas de frontières, il n’y a pas de limites : il nous envoie tous. L’Évangile est pour tous et non pour quelques-uns. » (CV 177).

Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

 Les JMJ réunissent des millions de jeunes pour célébrer leur foi et leur appartenance à l’Église. Depuis leur première édition à Rome en 1984, les Journées mondiales de la Jeunesse se sont révélées comme un laboratoire de la foi, un lieu où naissent des vocations et un instrument pour l’évangélisation et la transformation de l’Église. Leur but est d’offrir à tous les participants une expérience de l’Église universelle et d’encourager chacun et chacune à une rencontre personnelle avec Jésus-Christ. Elles sont un stimulus pour la foi, l’espérance et la charité de tout le pays qui accueille. Grâce aux jeunes qui sont des participants actifs, les JMJ veulent aussi promouvoir la paix, l’unité et la fraternité entre peuples et nations du monde entier.

Qu’est-ce qui va se passer?

Au fil de la semaine, les jeunes de partout dans le monde seront accueillis, surtout dans des espaces collectifs (écoles, halls de sport…), dans les paroisses et les familles. Outre les moments de prière, les partages et les temps libres, les jeunes qui vivent cette  célébration participeront à de nombreuses initiatives organisées par l’équipe des JMJ, en différents lieux de la ville qui accueille. Leurs temps forts sont les célébrations auxquelles le Pape est présent (événements phares), comme les cérémonies d’ouverture et de clôture, le Chemin de Croix, la veillée et, le dernier jour, la messe finale.

Où?

Lisbonne, Portugal

 

Lisbonne est une ville incroyable, qui se dévoile peu à peu, quartier par quartier, une rue après l’autre. C’est une ville est à la fois amicale et sûre, ancienne et moderne. 

Elle abrite des trésors innombrables d’histoire et de culture. En tout premier lieu, vous pourrez découvrir avec émerveillement la cathédrale, puis le quartier historique d’Alfama, le château et les vues magnifiques sur le Tage. Nous flânerons dans la ville basse et Baixa, nous irons nous promener sur les berges du Tage en direction d’Alges; nous pourrons voir la Tour de Belem, le monastère de Jeronimos, deux sites du patrimoine mondial de l’humanité.

Les gens, leurs traditions et leur culture font de Lisbonne une ville inoubliable!  

Soutenez-nous financièrement!

Nous ne pourrons pas vivre cela sans votre soutien financier.

 

S’il vous plaît aidez-nous en versant un montant, quel qu’il soit,
à la Fondation Sainte-Irmine, du diocèse de Luxembourg.

D’avance, merci beaucoup! 

Hymne officiel

Archevéché de Luxembourg

4 rue génistre, 1623 Luxembourg

Luxyouth@cathol.lu


 

  • Facebook Social Icône
  • Instagram